That thing called Relationship

I had a lot of goals for 2014. A lot! My first priority/goal was to have a closer relationship with God. With this being my #1 goal for 2014 it’s only natural that this is the last thing I’ve started working on this year, isn’t that unfortunate. While very unfortunate and sad it actually gave me inspiration for this post and inspiration to start with a bang! Here we go….

I believe that a relationship with God is something that takes work,  sometimes there are days when I have no desire to open my bible or I think I’m too busy for prayer. I find that on these particular days (there’s been a lot lately) it takes hard work and determination to make the time and find the desire. I’ve also discovered that when I make the time and muster up some desire, my days are filled with a little more joy. On those days when I barely have the time to peek into my bible but do anyways I’m more likely to be reminded of all the blessings God has bestowed upon my family. Just the fact that I’m able to read the bible and serve God should be more than enough everyday! After days like that, when God strikes me with such awe and love and joy how can I go another day without the desire to dip into his word and praise him? And yet those days come. I really struggled with this last year and I’m hoping to make some major spiritual changes everyday, not just this year but indefinitely.

I believe surrounding yourself with the word and other believers more than just once a week gives you inspiration and perhaps more desire to grow closer to God.  This season in our small group we are doing a study by Andy Stanley called “Christian, It’s Not What You Think” Our first meeting was about being disciples, rather than “christians” of God and showing love to everyone and through that love others will know that you are a disciple of God. I’m also continuing in a women’s bible study with our church. Beth Moore’s study  “David, Seeking a Heart like His”. While I’m excited about both studies and look forward to learning and growing from them, there’s something that matter’s more… I know that even if I go to a bible study every day of the week and a good church and I have all these great godly friends that I get to hangout with but don’t have a relationship with God then I have nothing.  I’ve missed out on what it’s all about. Everyday we talk to God, everyday that we praise him and spread his word and die for him is another victory in furthering his kingdom and knowing that gets me really excited!

“Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.” Revelations 3:20

Leave a Reply

