Mind Over Matter

I was supposed to start doing something about this post baby body over a week ago…. wait actually I think I was supposed to start as soon as the baby arrived but again I turned on some of my amazing procrastinating skills and I kept putting it off. Don’t get me wrong I have been able to lose most of the weight but I still have those last 10-15 lbs and they are laughing at me every time I sneak a peak in the mirror. And i still need to be healthy not just lose weight. I’ve worked out a few times since my last post but it hasn’t given me that motivation that I thought it would. That motivation to be skinnier or feel healthier at every blog update. I think what I’m missing is real commitment and ambition to wake up every morning and make different choices. To really make that decision to change and work hard at it. I think that’s what a lot of people lack when they are struggling with making a change in their life. One of my best friends who I’ve known since 2nd grade is now a dietitian and our babies were born within 2 weeks of each other. She too had a goal to start at the beginning of 2014 with her health and fitness plan and guess what, she’s actually doing it! She told me “Mind over matter girl.” (We don’t really call each other girl but I added it for the effect. I mean she was really serious.)

So I’m going to wake up every morning and make a better choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner. During nap I’m going to make myself workout no matter how badly the house needs cleaned or the laundry needs folding or our schedule needs updating. My big thing has always been, well I’ll start on a Monday or at the beginning of the month or at the beginning of the year and the thing is it doesn’t matter what day I start making healthier decisions if my heart isn’t in it from the get go then I will not end up following through! Another thing I struggle with is if I have one slip up then I feel like I have to start completely over. I do this with a lot of things and It shouldn’t be like that, each day I should continue working towards a healthier lifestyle not start again. Anyways I’m off to make some changes. Here’s a motivational picture of my tennis shoes because that’s how I roll!

20140201-133136.jpg

Happy healthy decision making!

Leave a Reply

