I Will Miss Even the Worst Days

Time and time again I have heard the phrase, “One day I will miss this.” How often do we say that to ourselves? How often do we say that out loud? One day I will miss the sweet smell of my children right after a bath, one day I will miss these snuggles, one day I will miss watching them sleep, one day I will miss letting them help me cook, playing barbies with them, building blocks, etc. One day we will miss all the good times that we had when our children were little, we will miss watching them grow up, we will miss those sweet moments. One day I will look back and wish that I could rock them again and wipe the tears from their eyes. I think we can all agree that we will and do already miss the good stuff. The stuff that makes our hearts melt and our thoughts just a little sweeter. After just having our third and last baby I have been trying to embrace him, embrace every moment because it will be the last time we ever have a newborn. I actually cried when I changed him out of his last newborn diaper, and I thought this is the last time I will ever be doing this. May sound a little crazy but right now I am enjoying every minute because one day I know that I will miss it. Through all these sappy yet lovely last mental pictures I’ve been taking with my kids during their most amazing milestones I got hit with a brick by a very unlikely source.

Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee with Jerry Seinfeld

Yes, this show that my husband convinced me to watch and that I liked right away. This was probably the 15th episode that we had watched and I bet you can’t guess which guest blew me away with his insight. Louis C.K. Yes. Not that I don’t think that he is a good comedian but honestly I can’t really say for sure because I’ve never watched his stand up but I sure did like him on Parks and Recreation. Anyways, he was talking about his children and eventually he got around to saying that…

“You can miss anything in life even the bad, I’m gonna miss this, there is gonna be a day when I don’t get to do this again.”

That’s when I thought, wow isn’t that the truth. I don’t think I’ve every felt that way in the middle of one of my kids tantrums in the supermarket or when my kids ask me the same question over and over and over again times 50. I think my initial thought is, when is this going to be over but now I look at these moments differently. I look at the messy house that I just cleaned not even 10 minutes ago with a little bit more grace. I see this world before me and I know what my part in it is right now and that is to care for these precious little people whom I’ve been blessed with, through the good, the bad and the ugly and I know that one day when they are all grown up and living their own lives and my house is spotless and I finish my grocery shopping in record time that I will miss those messy moments. I will miss those moments that make me want to pull my hair out and lay in a fetal position until the house magically cleans itself. I’m not saying that this new insight will make those moments any less stressful but there is a little joy that comes in even on the worst days. So thank you Louis C.K. you have made even the worst of days a little bit brighter!

Leave a Reply

