Homeschooling Newbie!

My decision to homeschool has not been an easy one. As soon as my oldest turned 2 I couldn’t stop thinking about it, wondering about it and the fact that I have one sister that homeschools and another sister that sends her kids to public school should have made my decision easier but it hasn’t. I looked at both sets of kids and they are all amazing and smart and unique in their own ways so when it finally came down to it I had to decide what was best for my family and my family alone. So the praying began and it continued for months and months and while I was trying to decide for certain my homeschooling sister told me that I will just have a peace about it either way and that it’s something that may change with every year and so I waited for that peaceful feeling that she had promised me and I waited some more and about the time that I was about to give up on it…. it arrived and boy did it feel amazing! The last 2 weeks have been lovely and crazy and a wee bit stressful. While I’ve been praying about whether or not I would homeschool I’ve also been searching through site after site of curriculums to use. Yes I know this is just preschool but I wanted it to be something fun and easy for our first year. My son is so excited about learning and school so I definitely didn’t want to disappoint! In the end I chose several different things to weave together and HOPEFULLY make a beautiful preschool year. I’m still working on getting weekly themes together but for now we are just getting into a routine that is more scheduled and that’s a victory in my book.

Here are the following things I’m doing this year to make preschool for a fairly advanced 4-year-old educational and enjoyable.

image

Christian Light Education

First up is Christian Light Education which I absolutely love so far. This is something we do during our main “sit down and learn time” I purchased the kindergarten package because from what I read about the preschool package it seemed a little too young for him and I must say the Kindergarten books are perfect for him. They have 5 workbooks and 5 activity books, 30 lessons in each one. I have it planned out to where it will take up a full school year. About 3 pages a day. Can’t say enough about these books!

image

Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lesson Amazon Listing

Next is this lovely book that I happened upon by chance but I’m so happy I did. Honestly I haven’t been the happiest with the idea of memorizing site words and not learning how to sound words out to read. Love the phonics approach and this goes along with that kind of teaching. I love this book because it teaches the fundamentals, learning the sounds that letters make together. I have high hopes for these lessons and so far my son is doing very well. The reviews are absolutely amazing so we shall see. I will keep you updated!

image

ABC Jesus Loves Me

Finally for our bible lessons I chose to go with ABC Jesus Love Me. I can’t say enough about this curriculum! Last year I bought these books and was pretty consistent with it but last year I used the entire curriculum. This year I’m using the 4-year-old curriculum but only the bible lessons each week. I did buy these books last year so that I wouldn’t have to go to the library all the time (and plan on using them with my younger littles) but this year I’ve decided to brave the library printers because guess what… EVERYTHING ON THIS SITE IS FREE! Yes, you heard right free. Weekly lesson plans, daily plans, printables, crafts. You can purchase a lesson plan book and most of the printables you will need just to make it easier and have it more organized which is what I did last year but it’s totally easy do without purchasing especially if you have your own printer!

A few more things I hope to add in are weekly themes which one of my resources for this is 25 Weekly Themes and some Five in a Row books and activities which I’ve heard awesome things about! I’ve also been using Homeschool Skedtrack as a planner. I was going to buy a planner but when I came across this amazing online homeschool planner I about had an attack of the giggles. I realize that this is just preschool but just having our daily plans scheduled and marked off each day, you can also go ahead and plan your year, your days off, your holidays and then it does all the hard work for you! Love it and plan to continue using it through the years!

So my homeschooling has begun! Wish me luck and happy schooling to you whether public, private or in the home!

8 thoughts on “Homeschooling Newbie!”

  1. All the best in your new homeschool journey! It’s a beautiful journey. We’ve been on it now for 13 years, though I like to think we’ve been on this path from the beginning since learning begins from the very moment our beautiful ones arrive in the world.

    Looks like you’ve some wonderful books to use (I know many who have used Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons and just loved it, so good choice!)

    Happy planning and happy learning. And from past experience, keep in mind ideals get crushed and we can tend to get hard on ourselves (and compare ourselves to other mamas too much…I’m very experienced at that part–insert smile), so go easy on yourself and expectations as you figure it all out and what’s best for each child and your home school life.

    Looks like you’re off to a good start! Welcome to the community! So glad you’re on the path with us.

    1. Thank you so much for the encouragement! I definitely have taken a step back to readjust my expectations since the first week or so and things are going great right now. I enjoy getting a glimpse of different homeschooling journeys through the blogging world. So inspiring and motivating. Super excited to be a part of it.

Leave a Reply

