A Smoother Day Begins With…

image

Smoothie, Smoothie, Smoothie….(Scroll down for recipe!)

I can’t tell you how much I love smoothies! They are refreshing and healthy(most the time) and delicious! Any way shape or form! Now I’m gonna be honest this wasn’t the very first thing I had today. The very first thing was coffee, but I’m so tired when I’m having my 1ST cup of coffee in the morning(or really lets not walk on egg shells… more like the middle of the night when you have a 3 month old and two toddlers) that I don’t really remember it even happening and really it’s more of a means of survival than anything else. So anyways I love my smoothie days and so does my daughter. She can down a smoothie with the best of them. This is really the only way that I can get her to eat vegetables and boy does she! My son however sees what I put in them and won’t touch the things but I’m devising a plan that involves turning them into popsicles without his knowledge… he loves popsicles. Will let you know how that goes! Sooo….

A smoothie brings a smoother day (I also like to read the bible in the morning even if all I can get in is a chapter! It puts the smooth in smoother!) … It’s true, just look at these pictures of my children cooperating during school time….

image

Ok, I’m gonna be honest again, it wasn’t all smiles and grins from these two but since I started my day out right I think it allowed me to handle the crazy just a little bit better. I was a little less frustrated and a little more fun. Instead of getting upset I chose to talk it out or wait it out patiently. Do I really think a smoothie can do all this? Well sort of. I’ve had days when there was no time for me to eat because it was so hectic and crazy and on an empty stomach I turn into sort of a quiet grump, ask my husband if you don’t believe me. As soon as I get something in my belly I’m all bells and whistles and I think that’s true for most people. “Never fight on an empty stomach!” I can’t remember where I heard that but that’s what “they” say. So a very good morning for us Lane’s. Our theme for the next two weeks is the desert and so far we are rocking it. My 2-year-old is learning her letters and my 4-year-old is going to town on his desert animals. Super excited about this theme and can’t wait to blog about it when it’s all wrapped up!

Here’s to a smooth, smoothie kind of day!

Recipe for that Green Smoothie pictured above. I’m gonna just list the ingredients not the amounts. My smoothies always vary in that area. I kinda just throw some stuff in and really anything you have on hand should work just fine!

Ingredients – Banana, Apple, Celery, Spinach, Peanut Butter, Almond Milk, Ice, Turmeric, Ground Pepper

*Turmeric – Turmeric is used for arthritis, heartburn (dyspepsia), stomach pain, diarrhea, intestinal gas, stomachbloating, loss of appetite, jaundice, liver problems and gallbladder disorders.
It is also used for headaches, bronchitis, colds, lung infections, fibromyalgia, leprosy, fever, menstrual problems, and cancer. Other uses include depression, Alzheimer’s disease, water retention, worms, and kidney problems.
Some people apply turmeric to the skin for pain, ringworm, bruising, leech bites, eye infections, inflammatory skin conditions, soreness inside of the mouth, and infected wounds.

Source – http://www.webmd.com/vitamins-supplements/ingredientmono-662-turmeric.aspx?activeingredientid=662&activeingredientname=turmeric

Leave a Reply

