When You Know it’s Working

About two months into this new homeschooling adventure and I finally got a pretty reliable sign that both of my children are getting something out of it.

image

My 4 year old has been working through the book, Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons and we are about a third of the way through. Today we were finishing up an entirely different lesson about our left and right sides. He was looking at the work sheet and I could tell he was contemplating something. Before I could inquire he asks the following.

“Why in the word are g and h in the word right?” He pointed to the word “right” and those two silent letters inside that word.

I tried to explain that they were silent. We’ve only just touched on that in his reading lessons so to him seeing a gh in a word that does not sound like it has those letters in it was flabbergasting. I eventually googled his exact question. You can find the only answer I could find right here but to be honest I didn’t do a thorough search at all!

Anyways I am thrilled. I am thrilled that my son is recognizing letter sounds within words when we aren’t even doing a reading lesson. I’m thrilled that he’s interested enough to ask questions. My heart does a double pump when I think about it. One of the most beautiful things is to see my children learn something new, learn and be excited about it. It’s encouraging for someone who is planning on homeschooling full time.

I’ve seen improvement in my two year olds letter recognition as well. Before we started the school year she could only identify a couple of letters, 2 months in she already knows so many more and gets excited when she sees them. It really makes me so giddy! Giddy I tell you!

As for my Littlest, it wouldn’t be right if our 4 month old didn’t get a proud update from momma, he’s rolling over like crazy and grabbing stuff! I got a little emotional when this started happening, our last little one learning to roll. Oh my!

So homeschooling is actually coming together quite nicely. The kids are learning and my hair is still all intact. Intact hair makes for a good first couple months!:)

Happy Homeschooling!

10 thoughts on “When You Know it’s Working”

  1. That’s so wonderful that homeschooling is going well for you. It is something my husband and I have spoken about for our kids and there are a lot of families at our church who do it. I am amazed at how mature and well-adjusted their kids are. All the best!

    1. Thank you! We have prayed about it a lot and have found this to be the best for our family at least for the first few years. Never know what the future holds. We know several church families that do as well which was one reason we started thinking about it. It is a big decision, all the best to you guys if you are considering it! 🙂

  2. If you ever want any homeschool music stuff- just say the word 🙂 certified music teacher here willing to send foldables and music things your way (unless you are a musician or music teacher- then you do not need me!)!

Leave a Reply

