I Love You Much My Darling

image

” I love you much brother.”

These were the exact words my 2 year old daughter said to her 5 month old baby brother. It wasn’t a moment of cuddles or joy, she was just playing outside and on her way past me and baby bubba on the deck she stopped and got really really close to his face, their snot bubbles inevitably touching. She put her hand on his cheek and whispered “I love you much brother.”

Talk about a mother’s heart breaking in an oh so good kind of way. She looked up at me with a big smile on her face, baby bubba had a smile too. All I could do was kiss her forehead and say “I love you much my darling.” Snot bubbles and all. She was off in a flash. The moment gone but not forgotten. Oh how simple and profound to love like a child loves.

I love you much my darling.

One thought on “I Love You Much My Darling”

Leave a Reply

