From Newborn to Normal

image

With every baby that comes along there is this period that goes by in a quick blur and has its own uniqueness too it. From it’s own particular smell to its soft caress. This is our 3rd go around with the newborn phase. While I love this stage I’m always ready when it’s over and the next stage begins and sadly this time around I didn’t even feel it slip away.

There have been the extra small and extra warm snuggles. There have been sweet rubs of those soft cheeks and little butterfly kisses. The newborn smell that sticks to you night and day. The quiet whimpers of a new little one needing a nipple. The lullabies that always seem too few. The snuggle wraps and sleepers, the booties and little caps. The staring at their little faces for hours until you can’t keep your eyes open.

But with these precious moments come those not so easy moments….

The sleepless nights and sleepless days, the sweet smelling watered down poo that you don’t know what to make of and sometimes hits you like a water hose. The cracked and bleeding nipples. A new found fear of leaving the house with 3 children instead of 2. Another fear of ignoring your existing children. The constant crying, from you not the baby. Not knowing what to do if all kids plus your newborn starts crying at once or if you are a first time parent not knowing what to do in general.

These things all mesh well together, the good the bad and all the in between. They mesh so well together that there is no time to ponder them or embrace them or really think about them until they are good and gone. As such in my case I woke up one morning and it was like a normal old day. A routine has begun. The new baby is 5 months old and not so brand new anymore. I’ve left the house several times with all three and did an okay job without even giving myself credit. My newborn days are over and my new normal days have started and I feel a little bit like I missed it. A little bit sad but a little relieved. Not as tired, a little more prepared and confident. I can proudly say:

“I’m a mom of 3 now.”

I can say this without an anxious heart. Those newborn days will be thought of fondly and loved much but I can say with a full heart that our family is complete and it’s back to business as usual.

Here’s to living another day with a family of the perfect number 5.

2 thoughts on “From Newborn to Normal”

Leave a Reply

