Conversations That End too Soon

image

We worry about what a child will become tomorrow, yet we forget that he is someone today.” — Stacia Tauscher, dancer and artist

A conversation with my 2 year old daughter over the weekend went like this:

Little Miss: “I’m going to work.” She said as she picked up her play purse.
Me: “Where are you going to work at?”
Little Miss: “Small group.”
Me: “What are you going to do there?”
Little Miss: “Praise God!”

This made my heart happy. It made me joyful and proud. I pondered on it all weekend. There was something to it that I couldn’t quite place for a couple days that left me with an uneasy feeling. It came to me this morning: How many conversations have I missed out on? How many times have my children started to tell me something or just stated a fact about what they were doing and I didn’t follow up with a question? How many times have I missed out on the brilliant and beautiful responses that might have been but weren’t given the chance? I’m gonna go ahead and say, probably a lot.

Just this 2 minute conversation reminded me how much I want to know about my children. It reminds me that no matter how little they seem they do have some amazing insights on the world. Their thoughts may be short but they sure are sweet. Music to the ears.

So, next time our kiddos say something and we are in a hurry or seem a bit rushed or just preoccupied with other thoughts, try to remember to make the most of those little conversations or thoughts of theirs while they still want to have conversations with us. I know I’m sure gonna. Don’t be surprised if you see more of my posts filled with delightful conversations with my little Lanes.

Here’s to conversing with our little loves.

2 thoughts on “Conversations That End too Soon”

Leave a Reply

