Makeover Monday – Old Oak Table

Im pretty sure that spring or so of last year I promised more dIY projects by me. You can read about that here. Then nothing happened until a couple months ago I started watching Fixer Upper on Netflix. Not only do I just love Chip and JoJo but I love pretty much everything they do. So my virgin DIY self started getting antsy! I’ve never actually tackled most of the DIY projects that I yearn to do on pinterest so this is my year to turn my house and everything in it around. Major house makeover. As a family we are practically spilling out of it with the 5 of us so our plan is to put it up for sale in 2017 which means we need to update it on a budget to get it ready. I’m hoping that mostly paint will do the trick but I know that in the long run new flooring is needed and a cabinet makeover for sure. But that’s months away.

Here’s what I started with. This old oak table.

image

image

My parents gave it to me after my dad made them a new one. I grew up with this table. My sisters and I all had our designated seats for dinner. Many a memories at this table and I’m thrilled that I will get to use it for my family. But that honey oak color isn’t my favorite by any means which really stinks for me because everything in my house is that color; trim, doors, cabinets, floor. So an update is definitely due. Now this being my first actual do it yourself project I had to call my mom. She came out and showed me how to do a couple things and ta-dah, a wee bit later we had this.

image

Supplies and the “how” behind it:

Sander
Paint brushes (We didn’t use anything fancy)
123 Bullseye Primer
White Paint
Stain
Polyurethane

I sanded the top and sides but left the bottom glossy. My first time using a power sander, lets just say I felt the power! It made me very giddy like a school girl. The primer we used for the base is supposed to go over any surface so we went for it. My mom started staining the top, one section at a time and waited 3 minutes before wiping stain off.

image

image

I started painting the bottom of the table with the primer. This is the only picture I got after stain and primer was applied.

image

This is what we used for the top of the table and the bottom of the table.

image

image

Sorry my can of white paint has seen better days.

I’m a bit in love with this table and can’t believe how amazing it looks.

image

image

The plan is to get long benches for both sides and I updated a couple of the matching chairs to the table to go at the end.

One question I still have. Should I rough up the white bottom of the table and make it a little more rustic and farm house like? I think I know what JoJo would do but what do you guys think?

My first Makeover Monday under my belt and hopefully there will be many more to come!

4 thoughts on “Makeover Monday – Old Oak Table”

Leave a Reply

