Rise and Shine

image

(Photo by Amber D. Duff Photography)

“For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Ephesians 2:10

Today I woke up and actually felt myself giving glory to God. I will confess not all mornings are like that and sometimes I fail to give God the glory that he is due daily. Oh how I love those mornings that without even a thought I wake up thanking him.

I took a little peek into my daughter’s unusually quiet room and found her laying on her tummy playing so nicely with her Minnie Mouse dolls. I couldn’t stop myself, I got down on my tummy and wished her a good morning and wrapped her in my arms and thanked the Lord for this little blessing.

My oldest is hit or miss with the touchy feeling stuff but he asked me to hold him this morning and I squeezed with all my might with thanksgiving and love.

And my littlest, well he’s pretty much my little stress ball. He’s, round and squishy and loves those hugs and I try not to miss one second. Stressed out or not, he’s my little happy hugger.

This morning I woke with a kick in my step and joyfulness in my heart. I sang “Rise and Shine and give God the Glory Glory,” at the top of my lungs while making breakfast. I stopped when my oldest son started covering his ears with his hands. He’s very much a lover of singing but I suppose he too has his breaking point.

Days like these are reminders of how awesome God is, and yes I sometimes need a reminder because I get so caught up in the lists and the ins and outs of our day that I forget where the main focus of my day should be in the first place. The shining light that is the reason for the joy in my heart is just dying to shine through wherever it can. I can show God glory with my kindness, with how I treat my husband (even on days when I’d like to keep to myself), I can show it with the patience I show my kiddos (even during the most craziest of tantrums). I can show God’s glory with my compassion, forgiveness, love and grace towards people who I don’t understand or who have hurt me. Today reminded me of all the good that God created me with. I want to pass the goodness and love around, like he intended for me to do.

To wrap up, it was one great morning!

Here’s to rising and shining and giving it all to God!:)

4 thoughts on “Rise and Shine”

  1. Sometimes I am awoken by children bouncing on the bed, by laughing, singing, screaming., and instead of me realizing the blessings that those little people bring and the fact that we are alive another day, I think about how I would just love a few more minutes rest.

    Thank you for this reminder to focus on the things that matter and enjoy all of God’s blessings.

    1. We all need reminders sometimes that’s for sure. I have those exact same “go back to sleep” mornings too. Sadly probably more than the thankful ones but was so thankful for this reminder because those crazy jump on the bed mornings are true blessings. I just need to remember to embrace them more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

