Burnt Out and it Feels so Good

I have a confession…. I’m burnt out and I’m proud to admit it.

A little back story…

I don’t like to complain, I don’t like to be tired with what I’m doing. I don’t like to be ungrateful.

I’m the type of person that has a bad day and always tries to thank God that he even allowed me to have it. Every day is a gift. My kids waking up everyday is a gift, my husband kissing me goodbye in the morning and kissing me goodnight in the evening is a gift.

I know this.

I’m a stay at home mom who will and kinda is homeschooling, that is my choice, that is a blessing and while some days I wanna cry, I pick my laundry basket up and try to be the best mom/wife I can be. Who knows how long this special gift will last right?

I try to show love and kindness to everyone and I try even harder to love people, actually love them. I will admit there is a handful of people that are pretty much a constant in my life that make it very hard sometimes.

But this last week and I know probably several times in the past, I’ve been just done. There are a lot of balls in the air and I feel like right now they are at my feet. I am not arrogant enough to believe that I’m the only one to go through this, everyone does and I’m not trying to play the woe is me game. But I will say that in the past I haven’t let myself admit when I’m tired or in a funk or burnt out and this time around I kinda feel like shouting it to the roof tops. Not complain but accept that this comes even with the most exciting of lives.

I’ve realized I shouldn’t be ashamed of feeling tired and burnt out. I shouldn’t go into hiding or pretend mode. I shouldn’t feel like the dead beat mom who isn’t stoked to pick up toys for the 11 hundredth time! It’s okay to be tired, it’s okay to feel burnt out and I should feel good that I have things that keep me busy and burn me out.

Honestly I’m just happy that I’m able to have balls in the air in the first place. I’m happy that I have food in the fridge that I’m too tired to prepare. Yes I’m ending this on a positive note because as I’ve explained I can’t help myself….

Just because I’m tired or burnt out or feel like curling up into a ball and sleeping for 12 hours doesn’t mean I’m a failure and it doesn’t mean I’m not grateful. It just means I have that much more to hold onto. That much more to embrace and that maybe a weekend away is well overdue.

So to the rooftops I sing….

I’m burnt out and it feels so good!

16 thoughts on “Burnt Out and it Feels so Good”

  1. I’ve always tried not to be too dramatic about bad days and still be grateful. That’s why I LOVE alone time with God because I can cry, whine, and release all my frustration without affecting others or coming off ungrateful. I’m so glad understands our troubles.

  2. Wow. I was right there with ya today. I’m so impressed at how positive you are. I think I give myself more time outs than I give my kids! And so many days I say “I’m done”, like today. And then when the kids are sleeping and the house is quiet, I can’t wait for tomorrow when we can all start over again and I can see their little smiles.

  3. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.
    2 Cor 12:9
    It’s okay to admit your bad days…your weakness. You are still finding and keeping joy! I’ve felt burnt out for a while…that’s okay because we keep on going 🙂 Hugs from a fellow mom in the trenches!

  4. From my experience, being home with children for 22 years, “joy comes in the morning.” 🙂 Burn out absolutely will happen again and again. BUT…so will the mountain top experiences when you feeling that wonderful joy from being with your children. Sometimes it’s after a season of burnout, that we go on to have an amazing fruitful season! Hope that is around the corner for you.

  5. Thank you for your honesty. Being a stay at home mom and also home schooling are big, important jobs. I hope you find time for yourself regularly to regroup, to refresh and just breathe. Lori

Leave a Reply

