School Madness at Home

image

Today I got My Father’s World 1st grade curriculum for my oldest son. We won’t start until fall of this year but it has been between this or Sonlight for about a year and I just couldn’t go back and forth in my head anymore (I’m about to go nuts!) so I went ahead and jumped the gun and bought MFW.

My reasonings for this was because they both have great reviews, they both have a schedule laid out for me, the only difference and really deciding factor was the price. This being our first full year of homeschooling I just couldn’t imagine shelling out almost a thousand dollars when I’m not sure how it will even work for us and at this time I’m only planning on homeschooling the elementary years but I’m always open to whatever comes our way.

All that being said I got this box of books and worksheets and ideas and activities and although there is a laid out plan I can’t help but feel overwhelmed. I’m sure once I get it organized I will feel a little better. Lets hope anyways.

So what are your thoughts? Has anyone ever used or is using My Father’s World? How does it compare to other curriculums? I realize that I have already bought it but would still love to hear some feedback.

Here’s to over preparation and uneasiness!;)

17 thoughts on “School Madness at Home”

  1. I LOVE My Father’s World! I’ve used it plenty, yes. Feel free to reach out if you have any questions about it. The kids will do lots of great reading so I really like that part. And the lessons plans already laid out…very nice. Enjoy! I used it for Kindergarten this year and absolutely love all of the sweet books and fun projects. My daughter has her ant farm beside her bed. 😉

  2. Oh….and remember, your children won’t know if you leave something out or make a mistake. Just have fun with it. You surround them with love everyday and you are strengthening their character – that’s what matters most.

  3. Hi,
    we love box day. A few years ago we used the Kindergarten one, took a break for a year or two. Then we used Exploring Countries and Cultures and Creation to the Greeks. It was great as I was able to use it with my two oldest boys. Now that I have one in high school and two in elementary it’s a bit harder to use. We also have a much more relaxed style than we had before. More child led and listening to the kids interests, especially in science, history, art, music and so on.
    I hope you guys enjoy it as much as we did back then.

      1. It took me a couple of years homeschooling to get to that point ;). Find what works best for you guys and don’t be afraid to change things up if you need to. As the kids get older you may find other things that work better. Don’t be afraid, you can do this.

Leave a Reply

